“Look At My Profile, I Have So Many Friends” (And Other Tales from ‘Stalking’ Conor Oberst)

Sunday night was the Desaparecidos concert, a band I’ve wanted to see since I was 16 of which is fronted by my favorite musician, Conor Oberst. Of the many Conor Oberst music projects (I count 5), Desaparecidos is the 3rd project I’ve seen, and I believe only four of them actually have toured in the last ten years.

Of course, the crowd was diverse, even by Portland standards. We spotted a girl in cat ears, saw some emo hair harking back to 2004-5, and some bizarre couples fist bumping to the horrid first act (they were, by far, one of the worst bands I have ever seen… the title line is taken from one of their songs).

 

I was accompanied by my dear friend Jessyca Sweeten, both of our first times in the beer garden at the Crystal Ballroom (by far my favorite venue, one of my top 3 favorite McMenamin’s locations as well).

To sum up, it pretty much rocked. He did his usual political spiel, which was lovely as expected. And, they are working on new music, my favorite of the new songs they played being “Left is Right”.

 

 

One thought on ““Look At My Profile, I Have So Many Friends” (And Other Tales from ‘Stalking’ Conor Oberst)

Leave a Reply

