What the Eff Did I Just Make?! (My Most Recent Contemporary Art Piece)

Image

Okay, this piece has been months in the making. As in, months of staring at my materials not knowing what to do with them, mulling over the symbolism behind the materials, etc. Really, it came to me after I bought my second pink iPod shuffle, and it broke within a month but I lost the receipt and couldn’t return it. I knew I had to make art having two of one thing, a very loaded number, related to relationships and the color pink being that of love. The fact that they were both so broken was also a strong component in my inspiration for the piece.

Image

So I held onto them, until a few weeks ago I decided to open them up and the picture above documents my first step in the process of the piece.

Image

Two weeks, a cold, a new job, and many revelations later, I realized that they were meant to be earrings. And with my recent collage obsession, I knew I had to find images to adhere to them. I should also add the irony in that I am allergic to metal, and thus couldn’t wear my own art for more than a few minutes without a reaction.

Image

The end result? Perhaps the weirdest earrings you will never see anyone wear.

Image

2 thoughts on “What the Eff Did I Just Make?! (My Most Recent Contemporary Art Piece)

Leave a Reply

